GDT Ssk at Tor, Fri June 20, 6:30PM

Started by gobombersgo, June 19, 2025, 09:12:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Zipp

here is the condensed game - all the plays, replays on the big plays. 

this one was so bad it was good...enjoy


https://youtu.be/AQCekVgMKc8?si=NzU-WfUOXNSH4MTM


Jesse

My wife is amazing!

Sir Blue and Gold

Haha we'll get a good measure on how good of a coach he really is this year. Easy to coach when you're winning. He inherited a good roster and has basically had one of the best teams every year he's coached. Until now, seems like.

TecnoGenius

Quote from: Blue In BC on June 21, 2025, 02:37:53 PMA serious injury even worse when the result of an illegal block. I didn't see it so I'm not sure how blatant is was but it's very unfortunate. I hope George is able to recover quickly.

It was a marginal call, and only called after command saw the crippling and thus wanted to save face.

The REC can do that low block if he's between the tackles at the snap.  He was literally within inches of being "within the tackles".  I thought it was clean.

Of course, define "within the tackles" when it comes to a REC coming into the box...
Never go full Rider!

dd

Quote from: TecnoGenius on June 22, 2025, 01:04:44 AMIt was a marginal call, and only called after command saw the crippling and thus wanted to save face.

The REC can do that low block if he's between the tackles at the snap.  He was literally within inches of being "within the tackles".  I thought it was clean.

Of course, define "within the tackles" when it comes to a REC coming into the box...
He doesn't have to be within the tackles, he has to be within 3 yds of the offensive tackle, which he was.

TecnoGenius

#66
Quote from: dd on June 22, 2025, 03:11:00 AMHe doesn't have to be within the tackles, he has to be within 3 yds of the offensive tackle, which he was.

Hmm, ya you're right, it's not the tackles, it's even looser: "between the tight ends or TE position".  And that REC was 100% within that zone at the snap.

Ah, but there's a 2nd aspect: the block (hit) itself must come within the TEs and within 2 yards on the team B side of the LoS.

But that too is not what occurs.  The live shot is perfect because the LoS blue line is right on the 53 and the hit contact occurs right at the C line.  That's exactly 2 yards!  I guess someone could say they were 2 inches off?  But you don't flag for that.  So up/downfield aspect is clean.

The other aspect is was the hit within the TEs, and it probably was because at the snap the left TE is lined up with the bottom of the A on the on-field logo.  The hit takes place also right near the bottom of the A.  It is close, but like the vertical aspect, you can't really measure inches here.

Also, see the behind the GP replay.  Put your finger on the outside of where a TE is (or better yet the foot of the ref directly behind and lined up with him) and follow the slight camera pan if you can: the hit clearly takes place right at that same original TE line.  Again, close, but no clear foul here.

It doesn't matter the whole box shifts right as per the play design.  The "TE position" is set at the snap, not dependent on OL shifts post-snap 5s into the play.  (Right?!)

I think the play was not a foul by the rule as it exists.  I think command called a flag down because the D guy was clearly crippled by this and they want to look like they're "doing something" to protect players.

I think this should be changed into a penalty in the off-season.  There's no reason for it, and clearly the D players often don't see it coming.  Allow the hoggies, and RB lined up right near the QB to do it, but no one else.

I bet Busby feels bad about it and probably will reach out in some way.  Even the dirty Riders aren't trying to cripple random LBers in the open field?  They save that for their QB-eating DTs.

For my reference: 1Q0:39 Rule 4, Section 3, Article 4

P.S. They could possibly have instead thrown a UR under "Unnecessary physical contact, including ... diving into, cut blocking ... on a player who is: out of the play or should have not reasonably anticipated such contact by an opponent before or after the ball is dead.

P.P.S. The RTP hit on Trevor on the very next snap was 100% retaliation.  Nasty revenge.
Never go full Rider!

TBURGESS

Quite frankly that 'block' below or at the knees should be taken out of the game for player safety reasons. 
Winnipeg Blue Bombers - 2019 Grey Cup Champs.