Is the punting job Legghio's to lose?

Started by Lincoln Locomotive, June 02, 2023, 04:33:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sir Blue and Gold

blue_gold_84

Quote from: Sir Blue and Gold on June 05, 2023, 06:58:56 PM
Lol.... I'll just highlight your mental gymnastics below.

Never fails. LOL :D

Looks like it was Liegghio's job to lose. I wonder if another team takes a flyer on him.
#forthew
лава Україні!
Don't be a Rich.

TecnoGenius

Quote from: Sir Blue and Gold on June 05, 2023, 06:58:56 PM
Lol.... I'll just highlight your mental gymnastics below.

No gymnastics.  For 2 simple reasons:

1. I studied the trajectory of the film angles we were provided with and am confident it wasn't a shank (though could have slightly missed).  Unfortunately no one will ever know.  You can believe it would miss, I can believe it would hit.

2. I knew that there was an 82.1% chance Leggs makes that kick, because that is what he did all season, and like I said, he tended to follow his average rather than do well or choke at certain times.  And the distance wasn't one of his "bugbear" distances (like 32Y), yet wasn't much farther than a normal attempt.

I'll take 82.1% odds on a kick from our ELC kicker in a heartbeat.  Doesn't mean I'm not still crossing my fingers to cover that other 18%!!  Two things can be true at the same time.
Never go full Rider!

Blue In BC

Quote from: blue_gold_84 on June 05, 2023, 07:25:25 PM
Never fails. LOL :D

Looks like it was Liegghio's job to lose. I wonder if another team takes a flyer on him.

Hamilton re-signed Seth Small as their place kicker but their punter is a 2nd pick in the 1st round global draft in 2022. Don't think he played in 2022 though. Domagala did most of their punting last year.

The global punter could be any where on the spectrum of good to bad.

Only 8 other teams. I've lost count on how many teams employ 2 kickers or which might be having issues either with quality or ratio options.
2019 Grey Cup Champions

TecnoGenius