Blue Bombers Forum
September 23, 2021, 11:46:42 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "The Winnipeg way fits who I am" | Darby fitting in with his new team  (Read 533 times)
ModAdmin
Administrator

Blue Bombers and Fans

« on: July 22, 2021, 04:35:49 AM »

"The Winnipeg way fits who I am" | Darby fitting in with his new team - Ed Tait

A player can hear it a thousand times, but until he really lives it - until it truly hits home - it's nothing more than a phrase spit out so often it?s clich?: 'Great game, crappy business.'

Well, Alden Darby has now lived it all for the first time this week after being traded to the Winnipeg Blue Bombers from the Toronto Argonauts on Monday. And a day later he found himself in a different city and a different locker room still trying to wrap his head around how his life had been so suddenly uprooted.

"This is my first time ever being in this position, this situation, so there were actually a lot of things going through my mind," began Darby in his first meeting with the media on Wednesday. "My brain really didn't clear up for a few hours, it was actually really foggy. It was surreal... It's kind of like, 'What do I do? My life is here, my cars are here, my apartment is here...'

"There was a lot going through my mind at the time, so I just took a little time to take a deep breath. I had heard a lot of good things about Winnipeg, the city and of course the team. Being the defending Grey Cup champs there was a lot of good vibes and good energy I heard from former teammates of mine and previous teammates of mine about Winnipeg and the organization.

"I was actually really excited after I calmed down and realized that everything would be OK."