Blue Bombers Forum
March 18, 2019, 03:54:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Harris wins Manitoba Male Athlete of the Year  (Read 458 times)
« on: April 22, 2018, 01:04:08 PM »

Winnipeg Blue Bombers running back Andrew Harris and Olympic hockey player Brigette Lacquette are Manitoba?s top male and female athletes for 2017, the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association and Sport Manitoba announced Saturday.

The American Association-champion Winnipeg Goldeyes were named top team in voting by Manitoba?s sports media.
?Again, as we have for the past six decades as members of the Manitoba sports media, it is a privilege to have had a role in selecting and honouring Manitoba?s top athletes and teams in 2017. Congratulations to all the winners and finalists for your noteworthy achievements in the past year,? said MSSA President Terry Frey in a press release.

Harris was named the CFL Most Outstanding Canadian after capturing the CFL rushing title with 1,035 yards and leading the league in receptions with 105, a record for running backs. He was the Blue Bombers player since Fred Reid in 2010 to lead the league in rushing, the first since Doug Brown in 2001 to win Most Outstanding Canadian and first since Milt Stegall in 2002 to lead league in receptions.

A member of Team Canada for the PyeongChang Olympics, Lacquette was the first First Nations player to be named to Canada?s National Women?s Team. In 2017, she helped Canada to the silver at the 4 Nations Cup, scoring six assists and the National Development Team to silver at the Nations Cup, where she added an assist. She also picked up an assist in a six-game pre-Olympic series with Team USA.

Led by MVP Josh Romanski, the Goldeyes won their second American Association in a row. After placing first overall with a record of 62-38 and the second most victories in franchise history, the Goldeyes beat Lincoln and Wichita in the playoffs to win the league title. Facing elimination, the Goldeyes trailed Wichita 3-2 in the bottom of the ninth in Game 4 of the final but rallied to tie the score and then won the game 4-3 in 17 innings before winning 16-2 in Game 5.

Harris beat out New Orleans Saint defensive tackle David Onyemata, Manitoba male golfer of the year Todd Fanning, University of Manitoba volleyball player Devren Dear and Manitoba Junior Hockey League MVP Brady Keeper for male athlete honours. Lacquette was chosen from fellow National Women?s Team member Jocelyn Larocque, speed skater Heather McLean, U of M swimmer Kelsey Wog and rower Emma Gray. Also up for team of the year was the Mike McEwen curling team, the U of M men?s volleyball team, the Portage Terriers hockey team and the Team Manitoba men?s amateur golf team.

The Cactus Jack Wells Memorial Impact Award was presented to the 2017 Canada Summer Games, selected as the event with the greatest impact on the Manitoba sporting scene in 2017.

As well, the top junior and First Nations athletes were recognized along with outstanding coaches, officials and volunteers. The award winners were honoured at the Club Regent Casino and Event Centre Saturday evening.
Lincoln Locomotive
Hero Member
Posts: 2523

« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2018, 02:43:58 PM »

Congratulations Andrew....well deserved.   Now go out an win that ever so elusive Grey Cup! 

" Leo Lewis was the best player I ever coached, on either side of the border"!

Bud Grant, when asked who was the best player he ever coached
Pages: [1]
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.2 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!